首页   加西网: westca.com | 网站大陆访问入口: 88tours.com
AD
文章分类
首页
景点介绍
主题旅游
旅行游记
Hiking 线路
旅游常识
其它国家

多伦多148处历史建筑本周末“门户开放”免费游 打印

来源:星星生活

每年4月至10月间,被誉为“安省最佳50节庆活动”之一的“安省门户开放”吸引大批的游人参观各类景点。当地居民和外地游客可以亲身体验安省丰富多彩的文化遗产宝库。这一从欧洲引进的文化概念,目前已被认为是一种文化现象。 诸塞州,纽约州、纽约市、丹佛市相继开展有关活动。

这是一份多市历史建筑“本周末免费游”(5月28、29日)清单,详细介绍了免费开放建筑的地址、开放时间以及该建筑物的简短介绍。

具体介绍可以浏览多伦多门户开放官方网站:http://www.doorsopen.org

List of locations open during Doors Open Toronto - May 28th and 29th

1. 401 Richmond (4D) 401 Richmond St. W.; Sat & Sun 10 a.m.-4 p.m. Originally home to the Macdonald Manufacturing Co., lithographers of tinware. Now home to over 140 cultural producers and microenterprises. Guided tours on Sat. and Sun. at 1 p.m. will include window restoration demonstrations. Between 2 and 4 p.m., meet the gardener of the organic and pesticide-free rooftop garden. W (D) R $P

2. 51 Division Police Station (4D) 51 Parliament St.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.- 4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:45 p.m.) (James H. Hill, c.1899; renovation, Dunlop Architects and E.R.A. Architects Inc., 2004) One of the city's most successful recent architectural transformations. Toronto's newest police station combines the façade of a century-old gasworks with a state-of-the-art interior. Limited access due to security reasons. W D P

3. All Saints' Church (4D) 315 Dundas St. E.; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; Sun: noon-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3 p.m.) Opened in 1874, the church is one of Toronto's greatest examples of high-Victorian architecture. It features a Casavant organ with 3,000 pipes, glass by McCausland, a mosaic chancel floor as well as carved arches adorned with cherubs. Tours of stained glass Sat. 11 a.m. and Sun. 1 p.m. Musical performance by Talisker Players Sun 3 p.m. W (D) R P

4. Alumnae Theatre (orig. Fire Hall No. 4) (4D) 70 Berkeley St.; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; Sun: 1-4 p.m. (A. Frank Wickson, 1903; remodelled for theatre, Ron Thom, 1971) Converted into a theatre in 1971-72 by the University Alumnae Dramatic Club, many parts of this intimate space still allude to its former use as a fire hall. The original roof structure and the arched east window remain virtually untouched. Self-guided tours; archives and costume display. W

5. Anshei Minsk Synagogue (4D) 10 St. Andrew St.; Sat: 1-4 p.m.; Sun: noon-3 p.m. This Kensington Market synagogue opened its doors in 1930 and continues to offer daily and holiday prayer services. The architectural look of a traditional Eastern European synagogue is unique in the Toronto area. Guided tours. W $P

6. Applewood - The Shaver Homestead (4A) 450 The West Mall; not open Sat; Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.) (Unknown, 1850) The birthplace of James Shaver Woodsworth, leading Canadian social reformer, humanitarian, Methodist minister and founding member of the Cooperative Commonwealth Federation (now the New Democratic Party). The interior restored and furnished to 1870-1890 period. W (D) P

7. Archives & Museum, St. James' Cathedral Parish House (4D) 65 Church St.; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; Sun: 1-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:45 p.m.) (Darling & Pearson, 1909) Houses materials relating to the history of the cathedral and parish dating back to its founding more than 200 years ago. Special exhibit "Two Countries, Two Cathedrals: Grahamstown, South Africa and Toronto, Canada, Working Together."

8. Beaty & Armstrong Row House 1830 (4D) 461 King St. E.; Sat & Sun 10 a.m.-4 p.m. Characteristic of domestic vernacular architecture, this Georgian-style row house was also Toronto's Old Town first Mennonite Home Mission in the early part of the 20th century. Special photo exhibit "Something Left Behind" explores Corktown row-house clusters. $P

9. Berkeley Castle (4D) 2 Berkeley St.; not open Sat.; Sun: 10 a.m.-1 p.m. (Various, 1868-1932; renovation, A.J. Diamond Donald Schmitt and Co., Architects, 1981) national heritage award-winning buildings functioned as textile mills until the 1950s. Renovation transformed the site into offices and retail uses. (D) $P

10. Black Creek Pioneer Village (1C) 1000 Murray Ross Pkwy; Sat & Sun 11 a.m.-5 p.m. This collection of more than 40 restored buildings reflects life in rural Ontario in the 1860s. Includes a farm and live animals. Demonstrations by interpreters/guides in period dress. W (D) R $P

11. BMW Toronto (4D) 11 Sunlight Park Rd.; not open Sat; Sun: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.) (Quadrangle Architects, 2003) The largest automotive retail facility in Canada. Interiors provide a panoramic view of downtown Toronto. W D P

12. Camera (4C) 1028 Queen St. W.; Sat & Sun 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (Unknown, circa 1900; renovation, Hariri Pontarini Architects, 2004) This innovative, multi-purpose space is the brainchild of director Atom Egoyan and film distributor Hussain Amarshi. Inspired by Montreal's Cinéma Parallèle, this former hardware store preserves original features such as tin ceilings and original fireplace. W D R

13. Campbell House (4D) 160 Queen St. W.; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; not open Sun Built in 1822 for Judge William Campbell and his wife Hannah, the house was moved intact to its current site. A fine example of Georgian architecture, it is restored to its former glory. W R

14. Canada Life Building (4D) 330 University Ave.; Sat & Sun 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (Sproatt and Rolph, 1931) The neo-classical or Beaux Arts style Canada Life Building was the tallest building on University Ave. when completed in 1931. View the city from the glass-enclosed Tower Room on the 17th floor. The key feature of the Environmental Room is the "breathing wall," which purifies recycled air. Self-guided tours. W (D) $P

15. Canada Permanent Building (4D) 320 Bay St.; Sat & Sun 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (F. Hilton Wilkes with Mathers & Haldenby and Sproatt & Rolph, 1928-30) Opened in 1930, the skyscraper design was influenced by classical architecture. Corinthian columns are decorated with wheat sheaths and fleurs-de-lys. CIBC Mellon funded the award-winning restoration of the Art Deco Banking Hall in 2001. Performances by a Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra string quartet Sat. at 11, 11:45 a.m. and 12:30 p.m. D

16. CBC Broadcasting Centre (4D) 250 Front St. W.' Sat & Sun 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (Bregman & Hamann/Scott Associates Architects Inc., with John Burgee Architects Inc., with Phillip Johnson, Design Consultant, 1992) This 10-storey 160,000 square-metre state-of-the-art facility was one of the first fully digital broadcasting centres in the world. Home to the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation's English Television and Radio networks, the Centre incorporates a number of unique design features to provide the best environment for productions. Doors Open Toronto Information Centre is located in the Barbara Frum Atrium. W D R $P

17. Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame (4C) Exhibition Place, Canada's Sports Hall of Fame west wing; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4p.m. (Allward and Gouinlock, 1962) Founded in 1993 to preserve, showcase and celebrate Canadian achievements in national and international motorsports. W D R $P

18. Canadian Opera Company - Joey and Toby Tanenbaum Opera Centre (4D) 227 Front St. E.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:15 p.m.) (Strickland and Symens, 1887-8icon_cool.gif This 19th-century factory and warehouse building was creatively renovated as the home of the Canadian Opera Co. Activities include building tours, displays of props, wigs and costumes, as well as face painting and dress-up. Performances on Sat. of Hansel and Gretel at 11:30 a.m. and 2:15 p.m.; The Brothers Grimm on Sun. at 11:30 a.m. and 2:15 p.m.. Free tickets one hour prior to performances. W D R $P

19. CanStage Berkeley St. Theatre (4D) 26 Berkeley St.; not open Sat; Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.) (Edmund Burke, 1887) Victorian Italianate- style building was once occupied by Consumers Gas. The old pump room of the Gas Works now holds a 241-seat theatre with a balcony, a spacious lobby and the offices of CanStage. W $P

20. Casa Loma Stables and Pellatt Hunting Lodge (3D) 3281Ž2Walmer Rd.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (E.J. Lennox, 1906) Built at a cost of $250,000, the Stables feature a tall tower, turrets, and a golden orange-glazed tile roof. The lavish interiors boast Spanish mahogany horse stalls and brickwork floors set in a ribbed herringbone pattern. The Hunting Lodge features similar building materials and stylistic features. Regular paid admission applies to the main castle. (D) $P

21. Cathedral Church of St. James (4D) 65 Church St.; Sat: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sun: 1-4 p.m. (Cumberland & Ridout, 1853) Home to Toronto's first Christian community, this English Gothic Revival church is noted for the tallest spire in Canada, some very fine stained glass, and North America's only peal of 12 change-ringing bells. W D $P

22. Cedar Ridge Creative Centre (3G) 225 Confederation Dr.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (R. Nicholls, 1912-13) Overlooking Highland Creek, this 14-room mansion is one of Toronto's best kept secrets. Built as a summer home for the Charles Cummings family, it was later purchased by John Fraser, who renamed it Cedar Ridge. Now operated by the City of Toronto as an arts centre. W D R P

23. Chapel of St. James-the-Less/ St. James' Cemetery and Crematorium (4D) 635 Parliament St.; Sat & Sun: 1-4 p.m. National Historic Site (Cumberland and Storm, 1860). In its vigorous, harmonious composition, this small funeral chapel is a splendid example of High Victorian Gothic. Opened in 1844, this is Toronto's oldest established cemetery. Self-guided tours. W (D) P

24. Chinese Cultural Centre of Greater Toronto (2G) 5183 Sheppard Ave. E.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architects and Patrick Chan Architects, 1998) First phase of a multifaceted cultural complex. Interior finishes inspired by traditional Chinese fine arts and by the five essential elements: metal, wood, water, fire and earth. W D R P

25. Church of the Holy Trinity (4D) 19 Trinity Sq., west side of Eaton Centre; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; Sun: 1-4 p.m. (Henry Bowyer Lane, 1847) Tudor-style church towers used to be a navigational aid for ships in Toronto Harbour. Established to serve all equally, it has benches rather than pews. Beautiful stained glass and stencilled ceiling. W (D) $P

26. Church of the Redeemer (4D) 162 Bloor St. W.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (Smith & Gemmell, 1879) Gothic Revival in style, the interior features a variety of stained glass windows depicting Biblical scenes, including a dramatic portrayal of the "Road to Emmaus." Self-guided tours and exhibits of archival photographs. W D $P

27. City Hall (4D) 100 Queen St. W.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.- 4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.) (Viljo Revell with John B. Parkin Associates, 1965) Celebrating its 40th anniversary. Considered daring when constructed, it is recognized world-wide as a symbol for Toronto. Its active public square and amphitheatre- style Council Chamber express the important role of citizens in municipal government. Tour the Council Chamber, visit the Podium Roof and East Tower Observation Deck. Special photo exhibit in the Rotunda from the Toronto Star Photo Archives. Performances by Clay & Paper Theatre on Nathan Phillips Square on Sat. at noon, 1:30 and 3 p.m.; on Sun., at 11 a.m., 1:15 and 3:30 p.m. W D $P

28. City of Toronto Archives (3D) 255 Spadina Rd.; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; not open Sun (Zeidler Roberts Partnership, Architects, 1992) This research and storage facility holds more than 1 million photographs, maps, plans, drawings, audiovisual records and computer media, documenting Toronto history from 1792 to the present. Special exhibit "Signs of Urban Life" features more than 300 photographs documenting outdoor advertising. Toronto's poet laureate Pier Giorgio Di Cicco reads from his works at 1 p.m. W D P

29. CNIB Centre (3D) 1929 Bayview Ave.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.- 4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.) (Shore Tilbe Irwin & Partners/Sterling Finlayson Architects, 2004) This new facility is a state-of-the-art model of universal design. From its unique audio sign program and Fragrant Garden to its use of diffused lighting, textures and high-contrast surfaces, no detail has been overlooked in creating a building that welcomes everyone. Guided tours, special activities including Braille your name, Braille body painting, Guide Dogs 101, and more. Special Metamorphosis festival concert by the Tallis Choir at 11:30 a.m., 12:30 and 1:30 p.m. on Sat. only. W D R P

30. Coach House Press (4D) 401 Huron St. on bpNichol Lane; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. A venerable literary press and printing shop, Coach House has been in operation since 1965. Housed in two former coach houses, this is a living museum of Canada's literature and printing technology. $P

31. Colborne Lodge (4C) Colborne Lodge Dr., south end of High Park; Sat & Sun: noon-4 pm. (John George Howard, 1837) John Howard, surveyor, architect and Toronto's first City Engineer, designed this Regency cottage for his family. Guided tours of this restored and furnished museum. W (D) P

32. Columbus Centre (2C) 901 Lawrence Ave. W.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (Kelton and Lacka, 1980) Located on the former site of St. Mary's Correctional Institute for Girls, the Columbus Centre is now home to the Carrier Art Gallery, a small library of Italian works, a daycare centre, a fitness facility, restaurant, café and community classes. Celebrating its 25th anniversary. W D R P

33. Commerce Court North (4D) 25 King St. W.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-3 p.m. (last admittance: 2:45 p.m.) (Darling & Pearson, 1930) Monumental 34-storey building was tallest in the Commonwealth until 1962. The immense banking hall projects an almost ecclesiastical sense of awe. Self-guided tours. W D $P

34. Congregation Knesseth Israel (3C) 54/56 Maria St.; not open Sat; Sun: 1-4 p.m. (Ellis and Connery, 1911) Oldest synagogue still in use as a place of worship in Ontario. The simple exterior belies an ornate interior with vibrant murals depicting musical instruments, moral teachings and zodiac symbols thought to represent the 12 tribes of Israel. W

35. Courthouse Market Grille (former York County Courthouse) (4D) 57 Adelaide St. E.; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:45 p.m.); not open Sun (Cumberland & Storm, 1852-53) This Greek Revival building served as a court house for 50 years and then became home to the Arts & Letters Club. Later it was used as a theatre; now a favourite site for dining and dancing. The Cell Bar incorporates original jail cells. W (D) $P

36. Design Exchange (former Toronto Stock Exchange Building) (4D) 234 Bay St.; not open Sat; Sun: 10 a.m.- 5 p.m. (last admittance: 4:30 p.m.) A unique blend of old and new spaces produced by the incorporation of the historic Toronto Stock Exchange building into the Toronto-Dominion Centre complex. Tour the ground floor, grand staircase and restored trading floor. Special exhibits include: "Stealing Beauty" curated by Christopher Hume, "Architecture in Perspective," the "TSA Poster Competition," and "Digifest goes WILD!" W D $P

37. Dominion Modern Museum of Modern Architecture & Design (4D) 59 College St.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (Peter Dickinson, 1959) "Mean City," an exhibit and catalogue, celebrates the post- World War II building boom and artistic explosion that gave young entrepreneurs, designers, artists and architects opportunities to dream big, bold and modern. D $P

38. Don Valley Brick Works (3D) 550 Bayview Ave.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.- 4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:45 p.m.) This unique industrial site in the Don Valley produced bricks for more than a century. Learn about Evergreen, a national nonprofit organization, and its plans to reuse the site's buildings as a cultural centre, native plant nursery and demonstration gardens. Peek inside the industrial building where bricks were fired in the tunnel kilns. Safety headgear and footwear provided by Evergreen. W (D) P

39. Dovercourt Public School (3C) 228 Bartlett Ave.; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.); not open Sun (C.H. Bishop, 1915-16) Designed with a mixture of Gothic and Classical features, the school is a good example of early 20thcentury Toronto school design. Activities for the whole family during "Spring Fling" Sat. 11 a.m.-3 p.m. W (D) R P

40. du Toit Allsopp Hillier (4D) 50 Park Rd.; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; not open Sun (John B. Parkin Associates, 1954) This modernist landmark was first permanent home of the Ontario Association of Architects. Alterations by Roger du Toit Architects in 1992 recreated the openness, simplicity and spatial clarity of the original design. W

41. Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre (4D) 189 Yonge St.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3 p.m.) National Historic Site (Thomas Lamb, 1913). The last operating "double-decker" theatre in the world, the Elgin was originally originally built for vaudeville and silent films. Beautifully restored by the Ontario Heritage Foundation between 1987-89. Guided tours at 10, 11:30 a.m., 1:30 and 3 p.m. W D $P

42. Enoch Turner Schoolhouse (4D) 106 Trinity St.; not open Sat; Sun: 10 a.m.-5 p.m. (1848; west wing, Gundry & Langley, 1869) The oldest surviving school in Toronto was built as the city's first free school by wealthy brewer Enoch Turner. Features ongoing re-enactment of an 1850s school class with visitor participation and an exhibit of photographs and maps of early Toronto. W D $P

43. First Evangelical Lutheran Church (4D) 116 Bond St.; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; Sun: 1 p.m.-4 p.m. (Charles F. Wagner, 1898-99) The sole spiritual home to Toronto's Protestant German-speaking population for more than a century. The rich interior decoration was completed in 1932.

44. Fool's Paradise (home of artist Doris McCarthy) (3G) 1Meadowcliffe Dr.; not open Sat; Sun: 1 p.m.-4 p.m. One-storey frame house on Scarborough Bluffs, artist's home and studio since 1940, bequeathed to Ontario Heritage Foundation. Provincial plaque unveiling to commemorate the property takes place on Sunday at 2 p.m.. Self-guided tours of the studio and scenic grounds. W P

45. Gardiner Museum of Ceramic Art (4D) 60 McCaul St.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. Temporary home of the Gardiner Museum as permanent facility is closed for expansion. Building façade features vivid images of objects in the collection. Free hands-on clay programs. W D $P

46. George Brown College, St. James Campus (4D) 200 King St. E.; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.); not open Sun (Unknown, 1874; addition, Alan Moody, 1974-75) A significant example of adaptive reuse of a former industrial site. The former factory of the largest biscuit manufacturer in Canada, Christie, Brown and Co., was later adapted to meet the needs of Wm. E. Coutts Co. Ltd. (Hallmark) prior to the 1974-75 renovation which resulted in George Brown College. Thirty-minute tours. W D

47. George Brown House (4D) 186 Beverley St.; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; not open Sun National Historic Site (attrib. William Irving, 1874-6). Second Empire-style house reflects the prominence of its original owner, George Brown, a Father of Confederation and founder of the Globe newspaper. Restored by the Ontario Heritage Foundation as a conference facility and offices. Visit the spectacular library. W D $P

48. Gibson House Museum (2D) 5172 Yonge St.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:45 p.m.) Georgian Revival-style house (1851) furnished to reflect family life in rural Willow Dale. Guided tours, cooking demonstrations in the historic kitchen; costumed interpreters. Interactive Discovery Centre for children with weaving, dress up and activity boxes. W (D) $P

49. Gloucester Square Inns: Charles Rundle Mansion (4D) 514 Jarvis St.; Sat & Sun: 11 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.) (E.J. Lennox, 1889-90) Called "one of the most important historical properties in Canada" by Heritage Canada, the Mansion is a beautiful example of Richardsonian Romanesque. It was the home of Charles Rundle, Lennox's builder and one of the leading contractors of his era in Toronto. (D)

50. Gloucester Square Inns: Edward Gallow Esquire Mansion (4D) 512 Jarvis St.; Sat & Sun: 11 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.) (attrib. E.J. Lennox, 1889-90) Built by Rundle for Edward Gallow Esquire, a broker, this mansion features a lavish interior with stained glass windows and doors by Robert McCausland. (D)

51. Gooderham Flatiron Building (4D) 49 Wellington St. E.; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.); not open Sun (David Roberts Jr., 1892) Built for financier George Gooderham, this wedge-shaped Victorian landmark is one of the mostphotographed buildings in Toronto. $P

52. GreekTown on the Danforth (4E) Tours begin at St. Barnabas Anglican Church, 361 Danforth Ave.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last tour leaves at 3:30 p.m.) Guided walking tours of this vibrant and cosmopolitan neighbourhood. Visit many of the film locations featured in My Big Fat Greek Wedding. At 11 a.m. and 2 p.m., join Saul Korman at 569 Danforth for coffee and neighbourhood recollections. W $P

53. Hare Krishna Temple (4D) 243 Avenue Rd.; Sat & Sun: 9 a.m.-5 p.m. (last admittance: 4:30 p.m.) (Gordon & Helliwell, 1899) Built of white Kingston limestone as the former Presbyterian Church of the Covenant. In 1941, the building was purchased by the Church of the Nazarene; Charles Templeton preached here. The church building was sold in 1975-76 and converted into the Hare Krishna Temple. Please remove shoes before entering prayer hall. W R

54. Heliconian Hall (4D) 35 Hazelton Ave.; Sat: 10 a.m.-5 p.m. (last admittance: 4:45 p.m.); Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:45 p.m.) (Unknown, 1875) Built as a church in Carpenter's Gothic board and batten, the building was purchased in 1923 by the Heliconian Club to foster interaction among women in the arts. Special Metamorphosis festival musical performance of Baroque music for the viola d'amore and viola da gamba with Tafelmusik's Thomas Georgi and Joelle Morton Sat. at 1, 2 and 3 p.m. $P

55. Historic Fort York (4D) 100 Garrison Rd.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. National Historic Site. Canada's largest collection of original War of 1812 buildings. Established by Lt.-Gov. John Graves Simcoe in 1793. Soldiers from the Fort were instrumental in the construction of the Town of York. Enjoy tours, fife and drum demonstrations, and presentations about the lost buildings of the Fort. W (D) R P

56. Historic Zion Schoolhouse (1E) 1091 Finch Avenue E.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.- 4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:45 p.m.) An important part of the L'Amaroux community since 1869, the school is restored to depict 1910 era. Period games and amusements. W D P

57. Holy Eucharist Ukrainian Catholic Church (4D) 515 Broadview Ave.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (Radoslav Zuk, 1967) The Church, with its modern yet distinctively Byzantine domed design, is a readily recognized landmark visible from the Don Valley Parkway. The parish was established in 1937. D P

58. Humberside Collegiate Institute (3C) 280 Quebec Ave.; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.); not open Sun (Unknown, 1894) This imposing Venetian Gothic structure is surrounded by native shrubs and trees. The largest painting created by a member of the Group of Seven was commissioned by the staff and students as an expression of their love for Canada in 1928-1933 and can be viewed in Lismer Hall, the school's auditorium. (D) P

59. Hummingbird Centre (4D) 1 Front St. E.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (Earle C. Morgan with Page & Steele, 1956- 60) An example of early Toronto Modernism, the Hummingbird has been a cornerstone of the city's cultural life since 1960. Guided tours. Special musical performances between 1 and 3 p.m. each day: Sat., Venkat Ram on sitar and Ed Hanley on tabla; Sun., the "Family Quarles" fiddlers. W (D) R $P

60. Islamic Foundation of Toronto (2G) 441 Nugget Ave.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. Originating in 1969, this is one of the earliest Muslim organizations in Canada. A 125-foot tall minaret captures the skyline, complemented by a copper-clad dome. The 53,000 square-foot building contains prayer halls, classrooms, a library and gymnasium. Religious customs to be observed: shoes to be removed before entering the prayer hall; modest dress (elbows and knees covered); no dogs. W D R P

61. Jain Temple (4B) 48 Rosemeade Ave.; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; not open Sun The Jain Society of Toronto was founded in 1974; with a growing community, it purchased and renovated a former church building into a temple, prayer hall with a dining facility as well as a library. A 100- year-old idol of Tirthankar Mahavirswami installed in 1990. Remove shoes when enterting; no photography. W P

62. Jami Mosque (4C) 56 Boustead Ave.; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; not open Sun Originally a neighbourhood Presbyterian church that was purchased and converted (1968) into the first Toronto-area mosque. Religious customs to be observed: shoes to be removed before entering main prayer hall; modest dress (no shorts); no dogs. W P

63. John McKenzie House (Ontario Historical Society) (2E) 34 Parkview Ave.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.- 4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.) Three-storey brick house (1913), brick milk house (1907), stable (1915) and coach house (1918) restored by the Ontario Historical Society for its headquarters. Book sale in Coach House. W (D) P

64. John St. Roundhouse (4D) 255 Bremner Blvd.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. National Historic Site (Anglin-Norcross, 1929). Designated an "architecturally and historically important reminder of steam technology and the role of rail transportation in Toronto," locomotives were repaired here. Enjoy rides on the miniature steam locomotives, as well as displays of model locomotives, Garden Railway and HO scale operating layouts, computer simulator demonstrations and an archival photo display. W D $P

65. Lambton House (3B) 4066 Old Dundas St. W.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. National Historic Site (attrib. William Tyrell and Roland Burr, 1849). A hotel and tavern from 1847 to 1988, this is the only 19thcentury building remaining from the village of Lambton Mills. This stagecoach stop on the Dundas highway was owned by Sir William Pierce Howland, one of the Fathers of Confederation and Lt.-Governor of Ontario. Tours. W (D) R P

66. Little Trinity Anglican Church (4D) 425 King St. E.; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; Sun: 1- 4 p.m. (Henry Bowyer Lane, 1844) First opened to serve the poor, Irish working class in east-end Toronto by a powerful group of people including Bishop John Strachan, Alexander Dixon and William Gooderham. The oldest church building still standing in Toronto. W D $P

67. Lorraine Kimsa Theatre for Young People (4D) 165 Front St. E.; not open Sat; Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (H.G. Salisbury, 1887-88; remodeled, Zeidler Partnership Architects, 1976-77) Originally built to house the horses to pull Toronto Street Railway Co. cars, later an electrical generating plant and TTC warehouse. In 1977, it was converted into a main theatre and studio space. W D $P

68. Mackenzie House (4D) 82 Bond St.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.) The final home of William Lyon Mackenzie, Toronto's first mayor, outspoken journalist, political reformer and primary leader of the 1837 Upper Canada Rebellion, was built in the Greek Revival style. W (D) $P

69. Market Gallery (4D) 95 Front St. E.; Sat: 9 a.m.-4 p.m.; Sun: noon-4 p.m. (Henry Bowyer Lane, 1845) Council chamber of Toronto's 1845 City Hall survives as the city's Market Gallery. Current exhibit: "The Textures of a Lost Toronto: John Howard's Documentary Art and Drawings." Sat. at 10 a.m., 11 a.m., 12 and 1 p.m., an introduction to the history of the surrounding neighbourhood. At 2 p.m., Sat., storyteller Jim Blake will present a tale based on the life of John Howard. Sun., Bruce Bell presents history of Toronto's Second Hall. On Sun., 1 p.m., a free, family-friendly presentation "Dance Through Time," by Opera Atelier. W D $P

70. McGregor Park Branch, Toronto Public Library (3F) 2219 Lawrence Ave. E.; Sat: 9 a.m.-5 p.m.; Sun: 1:30-5 p.m. (ZAS Architects, 2004) This state-of-theart, 7,500 square-foot facility includes an inverted v-shaped roof, a tilted pencil column at its corner and a canopy suspended from the roof. W D P

71. Metropolitan United Church (4D) 56 Queen St. E.; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; Sun: 1-4 p.m. (Henry Langley, 1872, rebuilt after fire by John Gibb Morton) Features include oak communion table carved with image of the Last Supper, first tuned carillon in North America (54 bells) and the largest pipe organ in Canada. Site of the 1925 General Council, which established the United Church. Carillon tours at 11 a.m., 1, 2 and 3 p.m. on Sat.; 1, 2 and 3 p.m. Sun. W D $P

72. Montgomery's Inn (3B) 4709 Dundas St. W.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.- 4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.) National Historic Site. One of Ontario's finest examples of Loyalist Georgian architecture, erected about 1830, and now restored to the period of 1847-50. Self-guided tours. W (D) R P

73. Moriyama & Teshima (4D) 32 Davenport Rd.; not open Sat; Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:45 p.m.) (1923; expansion, Moriyama & Teshima, 1966) Built in 1923 as a service station (the grease pit is now a fish pond), the building has served as storage for the CBC, as a brewery outlet, and as a drapery showroom. Since 1966, it has been home of Moriyama & Teshima architectural firm. Now amulti-level interconnected collection of light-filled spaces. W (D)

74. Mountain Equipment Co-op (4D) 400 King St. W.; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; Sun 11 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:45 p.m.) This store exceeds the required efficient building standards by 35 per cent. Over half of the building is made of recycled or reclaimed materials. Highlights include a 10,000 square-foot green roof (signed waiver required). The building captures the rugged nature of outdoor wilderness pursuits and includes a 40-foot climbing wall. W (D) $P

75. Multicultural History Society of Ontario (4D) 43 Queen's Park Cresc. E.; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; not open Sun (Edgar Beaumont, 1897) This elegant Victorian home overlooking Queen's Park houses Canada's first Oral History Museum which opened in October 2004. The Museum tells the story how immigrants transformed Toronto and have also been transformed in the process. $P

76. Noor Cultural Centre (formerly Japanese Canadian Cultural Centre) (3E) 123 Wynford Dr.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (Raymond Moriyama Architect, 1963) The building received international attention for the way it combined a modernist sensibility with Japanese details. After the Japanese Canadian Cultural Centre moved out of the building, Moriyama & Teshima Architects were responsible for transforming the building into an Islamic cultural centre, introducing subtle Islamic details. W D R P

77. Old City Hall (4D) 60 Queen St. W.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:45 p.m.) National Historic Site (E.J. Lennox, 1899). One of Toronto's best-known landmarks is also a fine example of the Romanesque Revival style. Beautiful stained glass, faux marble columns, mosaic floors and murals designed by George Agnew Reid. Tours. No interior photography. W (D) $P

78. Ontario Association of Architects (2E) 111 Moatfield Dr.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (Ruth Cawker, 1992) Lifted from its hilltop site on columns and featuring bright interiors with natural light, the building houses a double-height exhibition gallery and lounge as well as meeting rooms and offices. Self-guided tours and an exhibit of OAA award-winning design selections. W D P

79. Ontario College of Art and Design (4D) 100 McCaul St.; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.); not open Sun (George A. Reid, 1926; addition, Govan Ferguson Lindsay, 1957-61; altered Moffat Moffat & Kinoshita, 1980-81; addition, Will Alsop and Robbie/Young + Wright Architects, 2004) Canada's oldest and largest university of art and design. The Sharp Centre for Design, opened in 2004, is a unique two-storey "table top" structure that is one of the city's most exciting architectural landmarks. It stands 26 metres above the ground on 12 multi-coloured legs. Sat. at 2 and 3 p.m., storyteller Emerita Emerencia narrates The Cowherd and the Weaver Girl, a story from China with music by Wen Zhao, pipa, and The Orphan Boy, Tololwa Mollel's Maasai story from Tanzania, with music by Achilla Orru, kalimba. W D $P

80. Ontario Heritage Centre (Birkbeck Building) (4D) 10 Adelaide St. E.; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; not open Sun National Historic Site (George Gouinlock, 1909). Tour the ornate two-storey main floor of this stately Edwardian office building, which features Art Nouveau stencilling. Home of the Ontario Heritage Foundation. W (D) $P

81. Ontario Legislative Building (Queen's Park) (4D) College St. & University Ave.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last tour at 3:30 p.m.) (Richard Waite, 1893, west wing rebuilt after fire, E.J. Lennox) This impressive Richardsonian Romanesque building has been the meeting place for the provincial legislatures for more than a century. Recent restorations have revealed much of the original building. Guided tours of hallways, restored legislative chamber and Lieutenant- Governor's suite. D

82. Osgoode Hall (4D) 130 Queen St. W.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.- 4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:50 p.m.) National Historic Site. A Toronto landmark and hub of legal life in Ontario for more than 170 years. The front façade is essentially as it was in 1860. Both sections of the building, one operated by the Attorney- General of Ontario and the other by the Law Society of Upper Canada, will be open. As part of the Metamorphosis festival, the Toronto Chamber Choir, conducted by David Fallis, will perform on Saturday at 11 a.m. and noon. W (D) $P

83. Parc Downsview Park The Hangar - Indoor Recreational Facility (2C) 75 Carl Hall Rd.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.) The Hangar was built in 1940 to mass-produce Mosquito aircraft during WW II and reflects the building's International style, a modernist architectural movement. Currently used for indoor soccer, trade shows and cultural events. W D P

84. Parc Downsview Park Toronto Aerospace Museum (2C) 65 Carl Hall Rd.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.) (Mathers and Haldenby, 1929) Before WWII, aircraft manufacturer de Havilland produced the DHC- 1 Chipmunk and the DHC- 2 Beaver (bush plane) at this site. Now the Toronto Aerospace Museum. W (D) P

85. Parc Downsview Park Corporate Office (2C) 35 Carl Hall Rd.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.) The Downsview Park lands were first acquired in 1787 as part of the Toronto purchase. This building is the corporate office of Downsview Park, which will be the Government of Canada's first national urban park. W D P

86. Parc Downsview Park Movie Studio Building (2C) 40 Carl Hall Rd.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.) A former storage warehouse and distribution centre for the Canadian Forces, NATO and the United Nations. Now home to Downsview Park Film Studios. W (D) P

87. Press Building (4C) Exhibition Place; Sat & Sun 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:45 p.m.) National Historic Site (G.W. Gouinlock, 1905). Celebrating its 100th anniversary, this decorative Beaux Arts structure features ornate metalwork and imitation rusticated stone. CNE headquarters since 1957. Brief tours. W (D) $P

88. Princess of Wales Theatre (4D) 300 King St. W.; Sat: 9 a.m.-noon; not open Sun (Peter Smith, 1993) First privately-built theatre in Canada since 1907. Features spacious public areas, 2,000-seat auditorium, state-of-the-art facilities and one of the largest stages in Canada. Interior design by Yabu Pushelberg. Original artwork by Frank Stella. W (D) $P

89. Redpath Sugar Refinery Museum (4D) 95 Queen's Quay E. (west gate); Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.) (c. 1959) The first industrial facility built to coincide with the opening of the St. Lawrence Seaway. Hourly guided tours of museum and raw sugar shed. W D

90. Riwoche Tibetan Buddhist Temple (3C) 28 Heintzman St.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.- 4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.) Previously the factory of the Heintzman Piano Co., the Temple was purchased and renovated 10 years ago by the Riwoche Society of Canada. The large Buddhist shrine room is stunning and is home to many Buddhist statues (some as large as 8 feet). Demonstrations of Tibetan music, art and culture. W R P

91. Rosar Morrison Funeral Home & Chapel (4D) 467 Sherbourne St.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (David B. Dick, 1877-7icon_cool.gif This Victorian mansion has been home to Rosar Morrison Funeral Home since 1929. Many original furnishings adorn the interiors, including paneling imported from India. W (D) P

92. Rosewater Supper Club (4D) 19 Toronto St.; Sat: 10 a.m.-2 p.m. (last admittance: 1:45 p.m.); not open Sun (David B. Dick, 1876) The headquarters of The Consumers' Gas Co. at 17 Toronto St. was constructed in 1852 (attrib. Joseph Sheard). A second building was added 24 years later at No.19. Later the two were modified with a compatible façade. The Renaissance Revival building is now home to a luxury dining establishment. W (D)

93. Roy Thomson Hall (4D) 60 Simcoe St.; not open Sat; Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.) (Arthur Erickson with Mathers & Haldenby, 1982; renovated Kuwabara Payne Mc- Kenna Blumberg, 2002) The curvilinear exterior design and sloping glass canopy have made this concert hall a city landmark. Home of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra and the Toronto Mendelssohn Choir, the hall seats 2,630 with no seat being more than 30 metres from the stage. W D $P

94. Ryerson University Architecture Building (4D) 325 Church St.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.) (Ron Thom, 1980) Configured as two intersecting squares organized around two major central atria, this building is a working architectural laboratory with many of the mechanical and electrical services exposed for educational purposes. Special exhibit of fourth-year thesis projects. Faculty members will offer tours of the building. W (D) $P

95. Scadding Cabin (4C) Exhibition Place; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. The oldest building in Toronto, the house was built in 1794 for John Scadding, clerk to Lieutenant-Governor John Graves Simcoe, by the Queen's Rangers. Moved from its original site on the Don River in 1879. $P

96. Scarborough Historical Museum (2F) 1007 Brimley Rd.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.- 4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.) Buildings depicting Scarborough's history including the 1858 Ontario Vernacularstyle Cornell House, 1850s McCowan log house and Kennedy Discovery Gallery. Special exhibit "Agincourt: A Community History." W (D) P

97. Shree Swaminarayan Hindu Mandir (1A) 61 Claireville Dr. (Finch Ave. @ Hwy 427); Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (Sadhu Akshaymuni Swami and Sanjaybhai Parikh, India; Papadopoulos and Pradhan Architects, Toronto, 2004) Hundreds of carved dancing peacocks, delicate lotus flowers and royal elephants beckon in greeting. Inspired by His Divine Holiness Pramukh Swami Maharaj, the Toronto Mandir is an architectural masterpiece with breathtaking intricacy not previously seen in Canada. It features a richly handcarved wooden courtyard that opens into a magnificent foyer with soaring wooden columns and panels. Sampradaya Dance Creations will showcase a brief excerpt from Vivarta, their new creation for the Metamorphosis Festival inspired by the Dashavatar (The Ten Incarnations of Vishnu) on Sun. at 11 a.m. and noon. W D R P

98. Spadina Museum: Historic House and Gardens (3D) 285 Spadina Rd.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.- 4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:45 p.m.) Built by financier James Austin in 1866; enlarged by his son, Albert, between 1898- 1913. This handsome house reflects the changing tastes of three generations with its original furnishings, personal mementos, architectural and decorative details. Access to the seldom-seen third floor and costume studio. Special Metamorphosis festival performance on Sat. between 11 a.m. and 1 p.m. of music for solo cello by Bach, performed by Tafelmusik cellist Allen Whear. W D $P

99. St. Andrew's Presbyterian Church, Scarborough (2F) 115 St. Andrews Rd.; Sat: 10 a.m.- 4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.); not open Sun (Peter Scott, 1849) The oldest church in Scarborough and the oldest Presbyterian church in the current City of Toronto, St. Andrew's is a fine example of early Gothic Revival architecture. Major renovations in 1892 and 1990 have not diminished the feeling of a sanctuary in the woods. W D P

100. St. Anne's Anglican Church (4C) 270 Gladstone Ave.; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; Sun: 11:30 a.m.-4 p.m. National Historic Site (Ford Howland, 1907). The Byzantine structure reflects that of the Hagia Sophia in Istanbul. In 1923, J.E.H. MacDonald was commissioned to decorate the interior with murals depicting scenes from the life of Christ. Seventeen spectacular murals were produced by members of the Group of Seven and their acquaintances. Sculptures by Frances Loring and Florence Wyle further enhance the dome. Reputed to be the only Byzantine-style Anglican church in Canada. Live musical interludes during the weekend. W (D) P (limited)

101. St. George-the-Martyr Anglican Church (4D) 197 John St.; Sat 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.); not open Sun (Henry Bowyer Lane, 1844) Founded by St. James' Cathedral in 1844 on land donated by the D'Arcy Boulton family (of The Grange). Fire destroyed the Church in 1955, but the graceful bell tower remains. The original font, installed in 1850 in thanksgiving for the removal of cholera, and an original teardrop stained glass window can be found in the refurbished schoolhouse where the congregation now meets. W D $P

102. St. George's Greek Orthodox Church (4D) 115 Bond St.; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; Sun: 1-5 p.m. (last admittance: 4:30 p.m.) (John Wilson Siddall, 1895) The Byzantine octagonal structure was originally the Holy Blossom Synagogue. Acquired in 1937 by the Greek Orthodox parish of St. George, it was renovated in the 1980s and its interior painted by the Pachomaioi monks, iconographers from Mount Athos, Greece. Magnificent frescoes. No interior photography permitted. W R

103. St. John's Anglican Church, West Toronto (3C) 288 Humberside Ave.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (1923) The magnificent stained glass windows by Robert McCausland and W.T. Lyon combine the Arts & Crafts Movement with the romantic sensibilities of the Pre-Raphaelites to portray the life of Christ. In 2002, the church interior was repainted according to the design of contemporary stained glass artist Stuart Reid. W D R P

104. St. Lawrence Hall (4D) 157 King St. E.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. National Historic Site (William Thomas, 1850). Premier venue for public gatherings in Toronto until the 1920s. Restored in 1967. Exquisite stone and iron work, Corinthian columns and a distinctive cupola. A special multimedia installation of surrealist paintings by Robert Vanderhorst with musical performances by Nash The Slash throughout the weekend. The artist will be on hand to discuss his work. W D $P

105. St. Michael's Cathedral (4D) 65 Bond St.; not open Sat; Sun: 1-4 p.m. (William Thomas, 1848) Designed in the English Gothic Revival style, this is the spiritual seat of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Toronto. Painted ceiling and exuberant Gothic arches grace the interior. Self-guided tours. W D

106. St. Patrick's Church (4D) 141 McCaul St.; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; Sun: 2:30-4 p.m. (A.R. Holmes, 1905-0icon_cool.gif The fifth oldest Roman Catholic church in Toronto, St. Patrick's is cruciform in shape with a circular and domed sanctuary. The church is renowned as a shrine to Our Mother of Perpetual Help, with a copy of the icon from Rome installed in 1908. W

107. St. Paul's Basilica (4D) 83 Power St.; not open Sat; Sun: 1-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:45 p.m.) (Joseph Connolly, 1887-89) Patterned on the Italian Renaissance-style St. Paul's Outside the Walls in Rome, St. Paul's Basilica was designated as the only Minor Basilica in Toronto by Pope John Paul II in 1999. W D P

108. St. Thomas's Anglican Church (4D) 383 Huron St.; Sat: 11 a.m.-5 p.m.; Sun: 1-5 p.m. (last admittance 4:55 p.m.) (Eden Smith, 1893) Constructed in red brick in the style of the Arts and Crafts movement, the church was originally intended to be a temporary structure until a larger stone building could be financed. Houses a number of architectural treasures, including stained glass windows, the baptistry, and the reredos behind the high altar. Self-guided tours. W

109. St. Vladimir Institute and Ukrainian Museum of Canada (4D) 620 Spadina Ave.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (1969) Ukrainian cultural centre and student residence includes the Ukrainian Museum of Canada, a theatre and library. A statue of St. Vladimir, who brought Christianity to Ukraine, stands in front. Special exhibit "The Story Strings Tell" depicts the history of the Ukrainian folk instrument, the bandura. As well, an art exhibit of works by Ihor Polischuk. W D R $P

110. Steam Whistle Brewing, John St. Roundhouse (4D) 255 Bremner Blvd.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. National Historic Site (Anglin-Norcross, 1929; renovation, William Hurst Architects, 2000) Located in the former CPR John St. Roundhouse. Steam Whistle has preserved much of the original structure in its brewery, including the exposed brick and original Douglas Fir posts that support the sloped cedar roof. Catwalks retain the feel of the building's original use. Free brewery tours every half hour. W (D) R $P

111. Tarragon Theatre (3D) 30 Bridgman Ave.; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; not open Sun Prior to its use as a theatre, the 1940s building was a factory for cribbage boards. Since 1970, has been the home of Tarragon Theatre, and includes three studios, a wardrobe shop, a carpentry shop and a properties shop. Special events include: Coldax; a festival of political plays read by professional actors (pay what you can), readings of the winning plays in Tarragon's Under 20 for Under 20 Playwrighting Competition (free), performances by the students in the Tarragon Spring Training Project (free), a street fair in the immediate neighbourhood (free) and at 2:30 p.m., a performance of Alice's Affair by Susan Coyne (admission charged). W D $P

112. TDSB - Sesquicentennial Museum and Archives (4D) 263 McCaul St.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.) This former Toronto Board of Education administrative office is now an education museum. The building's elaborate Beaux Arts exterior with neo-classical influences echoes the interior design.

113. Textile Museum of Canada (4D) 55 Centre Ave.; Sat: 10 a.m.-5 p.m.; Sun: noon-5 p.m. One of the only museums in the world dedicated to the celebration of historic and contemporary textiles. Drop-in activities for families in "fibrespace." Special exhibit: "Thirty: 30 stories, 30 collectors, 30 years" celebrates the 30th anniversary of the museum. W (D)

114. The Bay Queen St. (4D) 176 Yonge St.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (Edmund Burke, 1896; addition by Chapman and Oxley, 1929) The Bay Queen St. began life as the Robert Simpson Co. The core of the present building dates from 1896; in 1929, the footprint of the current store was completed with a nine-storey Art Deco-style addition. Walking tours of the exterior; special archival display in the Hbc gallery space on the 9th floor of the Simpson Tower, sketching activities for the entire family in the mezzanine of the Arcadian Court, and tea sampling at Great Cooks on Eight. W D R $P

115. The Gladstone Hotel (4C) 1214 Queen St. W.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.- 4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.) (George Miller, 1889) The oldest continuously operating hotel in Toronto, the Gladstone uses details from the Greek, Romanesque, Gothic and Renaissance eras. Restored and now a popular venue for art happenings and cultural events. Guided tours at 11:30 a.m., 1:30 and 3 p.m. both days. On Sunday, meet the restoration specialists. W R

116. The Great Hall (4C) 1087 Queen St. W.; not open Sat; Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.) (Gordon and Helliwell, 1890) Built as the West End YMCA, the building later served as home to variety of lodges, societies and artists' organizations. As part of the Metamorphosis festival, a special performance of baroque music for violin and harpsichord with Tafelmusik violinist Geneviève Gilardeau and harpsichordist Boris Medicky on Sun. at 1, 2 and 3 p.m. W $P

117. Todmorden Mills Heritage Museum and Art Centre (3D) 67 Pottery Rd.; Sat & Sun: noon-5 p.m. (last admittance: 4:30 p.m.) Site includes buildings associated with some of the city's earliest industries. Costumed interpreters offer tours of the 19thcentury homes, restored to 1837 and 1867. Guided walks through the 9.2 hectare wildflower preserve. The Paper Mill Gallery features "From Myth to Muse," an exhibit by artists from the Workman Theatre Project and The Centre for Addiction and Mental Health. W (D) P

118. Toronto Carpet Factory (4C) 67 Mowat Ave.; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.); not open Sun This former carpet mill, designed in the classic 19th-century factory style with the perimeter of the building forming a cloister around a central quadrangle, is now loft offices. The Art Deco Boiler Room was recently refurbished. Exhibit of archival photos, blueprints, and an original carpet design. W (D) R $P

119. Toronto Fire Services Station 334 (4D) 339 Queen's Quay W.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (Jurecka and Associates, 2000) Inspired by the architecture of ships, the station houses both land and water firefighters, and includes a dock to berth the Wm. Lyon Mackenzie Fireboat. $P

120. Toronto Necropolis Chapel and Cemetery (4D) 200 Winchester St.; Sat & Sun: 11 a.m.-3:30 p.m. (Chapel, Henry Langley, 1872) The Toronto Necropolis comprises 18.25 acres and opened in 1850. William Lyon Mackenzie and Ned Hanlan are among famous Torontonians interred here. Chapel, lodge and porte-cochère are among the finest examples of Gothic Revival architecture in Canada. Guided tours. W (D) P

121. Toronto Police Service Marine Unit (4D) 259 Queen's Quay W.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (1986) Staffed by 50 officers who operate 15 vessels year-round. W D

122. Toronto Police Service Museum (4D) 40 College St.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3 p.m.) (1988) Located on the ground floor of the Toronto Police Headquarters, the 3,000 square-foot museum reflects the past 170 years of police service. W D

123. Toronto-Dominion Centre (4D) 66 Wellington St. W.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.- 4 p.m. (Ludwig Mies van der Rohe with John B. Parkin Associates and Bregman & Hamann, 1964-71; 4th tower added, 1985-86) An outstanding example of International Style of architecture, this complex set a standard for urban development in Toronto. Tour 54th floor tower and the Banking Pavilion, view the many exhibits on the ground floor celebrating TD's 150th anniversary. W D $P

124. Toronto's First Post Office (York Post Office) (4D) 260 Adelaide St. E.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:55 p.m.) National Historic Site. Part of a historic block of buildings, this red brick Georgian structure is the only operational post office surviving from before 1851. Located in the historic block that includes the Upper Canada building and the former De La Salle College. W (D) $P

125. Union Station (4D) 65 Front St. W.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. National Historic Site (G.A. Ross and R.H. MacDonald, Hugh Jones and John M. Lyle, 1914-27). Largest and most opulent station erected in Canada and a significant transportation hub. Guided tours. W (D) R $P

126. University College, University of Toronto (4D) 15 King's College Cir.; Sat: 11 a.m.-4 p.m.; not open Sun National Historic Site (Cumberland and Storm, 1856-59). This stately structure is the quintessence of High Victorian architecture and is one of the most widely recognized landmarks on the U of T campus. Founded in 1853 as "the provincial college" to provide university education in Ontario without regard to religious privilege. Guided tours. W D $P

127. University of Toronto Art Centre (4D) 15 King's College Cir.; Sat: 11 a.m.-4 p.m.; not open Sun (1996; expanded, 1998-2000, F & S Design Team, U of T) One of Toronto's secret gems, this is the city's third largest public gallery. Established to provide a home for the Lillian Malcove Collection, the University College Collection, and the eclectic University of Toronto Art Collection. Special musical performance at 2 p.m. by the Aradia Ensemble to celebrate the release of its 30th CD on the Naxos label. W D $P

128. University of Toronto Cumberland House, International Student Centre (4D) 33 St. George St.; Sat & Sun: 2-8 p.m. (last admittance: 7:30 p.m.) (Frederic William Cumberland, 1857-60) Designed and occupied by Frederic Cumberland, this patrician home was purchased by the University in 1923. W (D) R $P

129. University of Toronto Early Learning Centre (4D) 7 Glen Morris St.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.- 4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.) (Teeple Architects, 2003) Glass connections, including clerestory and windows that open, enable children to see indoors and out, while cantilevered loft-like spaces and recessed floor coves create nooks and play spaces. W D $P

130. University of Toronto Gerstein Science Information Centre (4D) 9 King's College Cir.; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; Sun: 1-4 p.m. (David Dick, 1892; expanded by Frank Darling, 1910; addition by Mathers and Haldenby, 1954; addition by Diamond & Schmitt Architects, 2003) Housed in the Sigmund Samuel Library, the Centre retains its original 19th-century false ceiling in the reference collection room, as well as marble foyers, skylights and a secluded courtyard at the south end. W D $P

131. University of Toronto Hart House (4D) 7 Hart House Cir.; Sat & Sun 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (Henry Sproatt, 1919) One of the finest examples of Beaux Arts Gothic Revival in Canada. Built around a verdant quadrangle, Hart House contains a library, a debates room, the Hart House Theatre, the Justina M. Barnicke Art Gallery, two restaurants, a music room, a chapel and the impressive Great Hall. W (D) R $P

132. University of Toronto Mining Building (4D) 170 College St.; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; not open Sun (F.R. Heakes, 1905) Home to mining, mineral and geological education at U of T for 100 years. The Canadian Mining Hall of Fame is located here. W $P

133. University of Toronto Rotman School of Management (4D) 105 St. George St.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (Eberhard Zeidler, 1995) This 10,000 square-metre graduate and doctoral school of business management was designed to appear as a number of seemingly separate buildings borrowing materials common to the neighbourhood. George Sawa will perform solo kanoon music from 19th- and 20th-century Egypt on Sat. at 11, 11:45 a.m., and 12:30 p.m. W D R $P

134. University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies (4D) 158 St. George St.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.- 4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.) (1954; renovation, Moriyama & Teshima, 2003-04) Constructed as a medical building in 1954, transformed into the University's first centre for adult learners. Received an honourable mention in the 2005 Architectural Excellence Awards from the Ontario Association of Architects. W D $P

135. University of Toronto Soldiers' Memorial Tower (4D) 7 Hart House Cir.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.- 3:30 p.m. (last admittance: 3 p.m.) (Sproatt & Rolph, 1924) Built in 1924 to commemorate the 623 men and one woman lost to University of Toronto during World War I. The clock and carillon were added in 1927. The names of the 557 men and women lost in the 1939-1945 conflict are carved into the two walls of the memorial archway. Small museum located on the second floor. $P

136. University of Toronto Sorbara Residence (4D) 70 St. Joseph St.; Sat: 1-4 p.m.; not open Sun The largest residence on the St. Michael's College campus, this building houses a combination of graduate and undergraduate students. D $P

137. University of Toronto Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library (4D) 120 St. George St.; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:45 p.m.); not open Sun (Designed by Mathers and Haldenby; with Warner, Burns, Toan and Lunde, 1973) In the south tower of the Robarts Library complex. The interior contains six mezzanine floors of rare books. Current exhibit: "Canlit without Covers: Recent Acquisitions of Canadian Literary Manuscripts." W D $P

138. University of Toronto Victoria College E.J. Pratt Library and Lester B. Pearson Garden (4D) 71 Queen's Park Cresc. E.; Sat: 10 a.m.-3 p.m. (last admittance: 2:45 p.m.); not open Sun (Gordon S. Adamson, 1960; renovation Shore, Tilby Irwin Partners and Kohn Shnier Architects, 2001) The renovation transformed the library's interior through playful use of light, colour and linking vistas. Floor-to-ceiling windows allow the tranquility of the Lester B. Pearson Garden for Peace and Understanding to be felt in the ground-floor student lounge. W (D) $P

139. University of Toronto Woodsworth College Residence (4D) 321 Bloor St. W.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (architectsAlliance, 2004) The elegant 17- storey tower has been patterned in three kinds of glass, creating a sleek reference to the best of North American modernism. Houses 370 undergraduates. W D $P

140. Upper Canada College (3D) 200 Lonsdale Rd.; not open Sat; Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.) With its elegant architecture, landmark clock tower and expansive playing fields, UCC celebrates its 175th anniversary this year. Robertson Davies, Foster Hewitt, Hal Jackman, Stephen Leacock and Ted Rogers are just a few of the luminaries who attended UCC. W (D) P

141. Villa Colombo (2C) 40 Playfair Ave.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (Kelton & Lacka, 1974-75) Envisioned as a Mediterranean-style home for the aged, the building simulates an Italian piazza with a chapel and functioning fountain. It also houses one of the largest mosaic murals in Toronto. The gardens feature a grape pergola, bocce court and outdoor stage. W D R P

142. Wellesley Community Centre (4D) 495 Sherbourne St.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.- 4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.) (MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects/ ZAS Architects, 2004) Bringing new vitality to Canada's most densely populated neighbourhood, St. Jamestown, the centre includes a library, a public athletics facility, childcare centre, as well as numerous multi- functional community rooms. The Panchatantra Collective presents A Tale of Tails (The Mice that Set the Elephants Free), an ancient fable from India re-imagined in storytelling with masks, movement and shadow puppetry on Sat. and Sun. at 1 and 3 p.m. W D $P

143. Wolfond Centre for Jewish Campus Life (4D) 36 Harbord St.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (last admittance: 3:30 p.m.) (Susan Friedrich Architect, 2004) The central themes of this facility consist of a continuous stone wall (Jerusalem Stone), a roof/canopy and a prominent rounded form, crowned by etched glass, which creates a narrative of Jewish life. D $P

144. Women's Art Association of Canada (4D) 23 Prince Arthur Ave.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (William Williamson, 1886) The Victorian fireplaces and impressive entrance hall remain from the original house, which has been renovated to serve as gallery space. The Women's Art Association of Canada bought the property in 1916. Fine collection of early 20th-century Canadian art. $P

145. Wychwood TTC Car Barns (3C) 76 Wychwood Ave.; not open Sat; Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. Constructed by Toronto Civic Railways in 1913, the car barns are the oldest surviving car houses built for the TCR. Vacated in 1978, four of the five barns are to be retained for re-development. Uses may include community arts space, greenhouse, community garden, covered winter garden and live/work artists' space.

146. York Museum Centennial Building (3C) 2694 Eglinton Ave. W.; Sat: 10 a.m.-4 p.m.; not open Sun Community museum tells the story of the former City of York from its early beginnings to the present time. W D

147. Zeidler Partnership Architects (4D) 315 Queen St. W.; Sat & Sun: 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (Zeidler Roberts Partnership/Architects, 1983) An excellent example of how a modern building can blend into an existing neighbourhood. To maintain the character of the street, retail uses were incorporated in the design and the architectural office placed above. Presentations of current projects from around the world. (D) $P

148. Zion Church Cultural Centre (1E) 1650 Finch Ave. E.; Sat: noon-4 p.m.; not open Sun (Unknown, 1873) Restored as a multi-purpose cultural centre in 1998, the former Zion Primitive Methodist Church is located on the highest elevation in the City of Toronto. W D P

New for 2005 Key to facilities

W: washrooms

P: Free parking nearby

D: disabled access

$P: metred or paid parking nearby

(D): partial disabled access

R: nearby refreshments or paid food/snacks

评论

仅注册会员可以发表评论.
请登录或者注册

Powered by AkoComment 2.0!

< 上一篇   下一篇 >


WESTCA Technology Ltd. All rights reserved. / 北美中文网版权所有,违者必究 | 苏ICP备08006909号
Code powered by Mambo; Logo designed by Vivian Sun